Amalienborg Slotsplads 5
Copenhagen, Capital Region, 1257, Denmark

Photo: Rob Deutscher License: CC BY 2.0
Amalienborg is the winter home of the Danish royal family. It consists of four identical rococo palaces around an octagonal courtyard. In the center of the square is a monumental equestrian statue of Amalienborg's founder, King Frederick V.

Map of the Area Around

The four palaces are:
  • Christian VII's Palace, originally known as Moltke's Palace
  • Christian VIII's Palace, originally known as Levetzau's Palace
  • Frederick VIII's Palace, originally known as Brockdorff's Palace
  • Christian IX's Palace, originally known as Schack's Palace

Currently, only the palaces of Christian VII and Christian VIII are open to the public.

Amalienborg Categories

  • Castles and Palaces

    Amalienborg was originally built for four noble families; however, when Christiansborg Palace burnt down on 26 February 1794, the Danish royal family bought the palaces and moved in.

Other Amalienborg Resources

Popular Landmarks

Visit our sister site:
Visit Landmark: United States